New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

end

Archive 2016 · Lightroom CC 2015.4 / 6.4 now available

jancohen
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Lightroom CC 2015.4 / 6.4 now available

Is it possible the arguments here get lost in the meaning of "perpetual" licensing/ownership?

Perpetual licenses and software maintenance contracts aren't the same thing. Perpetual licenses typically allow a software purchaser to use a software application forever, unless otherwise stated; while software maintenance contracts usually specify that the software vendor will provide support for a purchased product for a limited period of time (e.g., one year), and may include updates as part of their provisions.

Jan 31, 2016 at 05:33 PM
Jeff Donald
• • • •
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · Lightroom CC 2015.4 / 6.4 now available

This a response on another forum from an Adobe employee,

I'm not a lawyer or an accountant, but the idea is subscriptions change how we will be able to do feature bearing updates because of revenue recognition laws. The Sarbanes-Oxley Act prevents new functionality from being added to goods for which the revenues have already been recognized. Because of this we have previously been able to do bug updates with fixes for advertised features, but not add new functionality when we have already recorded the sale. Subscriptions change what may be done in updates because the revenue is recurring in the same time period as the update.

An excellent question is how have other organizations been able to release features without charging for an update? There are a few ways in which this is possible such as deferring revenue by not recording perpetual sales in the period for which free functional updates are given. When a product makes up a tiny fraction of a company's portfolio this may be feasible, but for Adobe the Creative Suite makes up too significant amount for this to be possible.