FM Forum Rules
Nature & Wildlife Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Nature & Wildlife | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2016 · Cheesy home studio - Amaryillis

Bruce n Philly
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Cheesy home studio - Amaryillis

What do most folks do during a snow storm? Make babies! Or at least practice. What did I do? Something better than that... I set up a home studio and took pictures of an Amaryllis!! Oh yea, it gets hot.

Yep, I am a flaming amateur....

Canon 5DSr
Canon 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS
Blue blankie
Cheapo outdoor floodlights

Peace
Bruce in Philly
www.TravelThroughPictures.com
http://travelthroughpictures.com.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/1R6A6967TTP-960x640.jpg
http://travelthroughpictures.com.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/1R6A6995TTP-960x640.jpg
http://travelthroughpictures.com.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/IMG_0847TTP-960x640.jpg

Jan 26, 2016 at 11:13 PM
ox0312
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Cheesy home studio - Amaryillis

Nice captures and setup

Jan 26, 2016 at 11:18 PM
surfnron
• • • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Cheesy home studio - Amaryillis

First Bruce - you did well with the mixed light sources.
For the first - You shot at 1/400 and f4.5 which resulted in a shallow dof. If that was what you intended, you did well. I would have preferred more dof, and shooting off a tripod, you could have easily used a much slower shutter speed and stopped down the fstop.
For the second - It's my pick. However, the lighting is a bit uneven. I would have preferred a little more light on the right flower although I do like the rim light. Either moving the light a little closer or aiming it at the flower might have helped. When using a cloth bg, it helps to either iron the cloth or move the subject further from the bg so that the wrinkles don't show.

I do like 2 and am nitpicking to offer a little advice. Don't just take my advice -see what others have to say ~ Ron

Jan 27, 2016 at 08:27 AM
Bruce n Philly
• • •