Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2016 · Upgrade 2013 rMBP or get new 2015 rMBP

paparazzinick
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Upgrade 2013 rMBP or get new 2015 rMBP

So I have been throwing around the idea of selling my early 2013 13" rMBP and getting a new 2015 rMBP. My machine hit 3 years old yesterday and I typically upgrade every 3 years. Doing some research, the speed gains going from gen 3 intel i7 to gen 5 i7 wasn't that much. Not enough to justify selling a machine that works perfectly fine. I am a tech junkie and having the new machine would fulfill my tech needs lol. I really wish Apple would release the Skylake processors in the rMBP's and my decision would have been a no brainer. So not really wanting to waste $2k-ish on a new laptop right now when I know the Skylake processors will be out this year and I will regret not waiting, I decided to do more research and see about getting a bigger SSD and a slightly faster one than the stock that came with my laptop. I was looking at the OWC Aura Pro, but again the speed increase wasn't that much over the stock SSD. So i figured I would just google and find the largest drive I could get, regardless of speed and just use my current rMBP until it dies or Apple releases new rMBP's. Then I found this. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820147467&nm_mc=BAC-GDR-PC&cm_mmc=BAC-GDR-PC-_-dyn-_-Solid+State+Disk-_-N82E16820147467&gclid=CMCk946yvsoCFYQXHwodoo8O3Q

The speed this thing claims is ridiculous. I checked the specs and it should fit in my rMBP. I asked a buddy of mine who still works at Apple and he said he just installed one in his rMBP. Said it is blazing fast and feels like a whole new machine. I shall see Monday when it is delivered. I will post back the results in speed increase.

Just figured I would share since I know some of you are nerds like me and might want something like this.

Jan 22, 2016 at 05:07 PM