New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Weddings: Single Photographer Gear & Tips

Trunkmonkee

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Weddings: Single Photographer Gear & Tips

I'm new to the "serious" wedding photography, although I've done a few in the past with less gear.

So, advice time: if you have no assistants and you're on your own, what kind of setup do you usually bring, what do you have on your person at all times (2 cameras? Backpack full of lenses? Set stuff in a corner?), and critical tips you wish you knew before.

"Mobile" Gear at present:

Canon 5D mk III
Canon 70-200L
Canon 24-105L

42" Reflectors
2x3 Softbox
Beauty dish
Snoot
Barndoors
41" Umbrella
Avenger A635B & Manfrotto 1004BAC stands

x2 Profoto B1 500 Lights (possibly soon to be 3)

Dec 21, 2015 at 02:02 AM
Two23
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Weddings: Single Photographer Gear & Tips

For weddings, the important thing is BACK UP GEAR FOR EVERYTHING!!! You only have one camera body? You are ASKING for big trouble! If your only camera quits working, gets a drink spilled on it, drunken uncle hides it for a joke, someone steals it, little kid grabs and breaks it--whatever, do you think they're just going to pause the wedding while you go to a store and buy another camera You also list no on-camera flash (and again you need back up.) You are also weak on lenses--f4 as your main lens? Seriously?

My suggested list for VERY basic gear:

1. Two camera bodies, maybe a third. (Great if all the same model so you don't screw up settings. Cameras should be able to use two memory cards at once (cards set to back up.)

2. A 24-70mm f2.8 and a 70-200mm VR f2.8. Must be f2.8.

3. Back up lenses in case above gets stolen/breaks. I suggest 35mm f1.8G and 85mm f1.8G at a minimum.

4. Four spare camera batteries, two sets of fresh AA for each flash.