Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Pro Digital Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Old guy - totally lost my drive to market myself...

dude90001

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Old guy - totally lost my drive to market myself...

Hi group,

Sorry to be a bummer, but after a long career (magazine such as RDA, Nat Geo Kiids, Mutual Funds, Car Co PR Ford, Lincoln, etc plus design firm, big fortune 100 companies etc...) I'm now 50 and after dealing with parents sickness, the economy, learning Photoshop in the 90's, this new sharing (rip off free) economy and now video I'm still a freelancer since 1990.

I have lost the edge to market it's depressing what fees people expect to pay, how young people (I was always the young guy until now!) I don't facebook, or IG, or any of that and although I've read about it working it seems beyond me to freely throw your work out so others can say they did it.

I'm in Los Angeles, so I'm not a fuddy duddy grew up here so I know the drill and I feel I have pretty good work, technique creativity etc. but I won't follow up or market... I'm sort of screwed obviously and realize people who are crappy that I know still make the money because they can market...

Sorry about the ranting but what can I do to get out of this crap....situation.

Really want to hear your story not really answer mine.

Dec 19, 2015 at 10:31 AM
thebmrust
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Old guy - totally lost my drive to market myself...

Bear with me:

I guess the first thing that comes to mind is: Does your photo work pay your bills?

If it does, then you have to either adapt or die. Every business has to deal with it big or small.

If your work doesn't (or isn't live/die) and you are shooting to just add to your household income, then you can do a few things.