end

Archive 2015 · 16 vs 24

sbeme
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · 16 vs 24

Great images, Ben.

Dave,
I am not an expert printer but I have printed 50-100 images. Like Ben, I have a well-calibrated high quality monitor and the Epson 3800 printer. Intensity is set at 110. I try to stick with several papers to be familiar with their qualities, the divergence from screen to print, and to have options. I use the manufacturer's profiles and paper setting recommendations. I print from LR and work in ProPhoto or aRGB color space.
I have experimented with soft-proofing in LR and CS4 and either don't know what I am doing (quite possibly) and/or dont find it helpful. I have learned to tweak most images in the Print Module by bumping contrast 3-5 points and brightness around 4. But those settings relate to my monitor brightness, ambient lighting while processing, and desired print. Lately the Epson Exhibition Fiber (my go to paper) prints made at best quality are very close to the monitor. I have had good results with Ilford Gallerie Smooth Pearl, now called Ilford Gallerie Prestige as well.

Scott

Dec 10, 2015 at 08:01 PM
ben egbert
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · 16 vs 24

howardm4 wrote:
Do you mean the Soraa LED lamps?

Yes that's it.

Dec 10, 2015 at 08:12 PM
hugowolf
• • •
p.2 #3 · p.2 #3 · 16 vs 24

ben egbert wrote:
I have been printing on Rag phographique for a while, my second box of 24x36 is in shipment. But Brian, (Hugowolf) printed a proof of this image on Baryta and another on BFK Rives. The Baryta is luster and would show more reflections. The Baryta does not seem sharper or brighter, but is a bit colder in fact. But the BFK Rives is brighter and warmer. I really like the look of it and may order some smaller sheets to play with.

I have been leery of luster and glass and all my images are mat unglazed. No reflections at
...Show more