New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · D4 to D4s or ?

RKnecht
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · D4 to D4s or ?

Really would like to hear of some real world experiences from those who made the move. I am an event photographer and at the last 4 events I covered I found myself shooting at ISO 25,600 with my D4 (the D3 stayed in the bag this time). Whereas I found the files totally usable, the AF was hit or miss. Have those who made the switch found any remarkable improvements in the D4s AF over the D4. I searched the web and found PLENTY of reviews and comparisons, but they are always done outside in great light where my D4 really doesn't have any AF issues.

I am on the fence about making the switch to a 1Dx as I have read about how you can really tweak the AF. However, at this point, I would have to sell all my glass and reinvest into a totally new system. Something I really don't have the time to do. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Dec 03, 2015 at 08:08 AM
hjanssen
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · D4 to D4s or ?

What focussing method do you use? I have with a Dsevenhunderd no roblem with focussing at these isoos with only one AF point, with the exeption of these at utmost left or right. This with very big apertures, but even with a five.six Tamron it works till twelfthousandeighthunderd.

Dec 03, 2015 at 09:01 AM
sjms
• • • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · D4 to D4s or ?

what were you shooting and what pattern were you using?

a 1Dx? you might not want to go there.

90% of AF issues are user issues. the photographer is in control of the camera and still must decide which pattern is going to do the most for them under the circumstances they are in.

in this shot I ended up using a single point due to the "shoot through the slot" was needed.

Edited on Dec 03, 2015 at 09:16 AM · View previous versions

Dec 03, 2015 at 09:09 AM
RKnecht
• • • •