Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Zeiss lens noise while focusing?

rdeloe
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Zeiss lens noise while focusing?

I'm new to the world of Zeiss lenses and need a quick confirmation. My new (used) Distagon 21mm f/2.8 ZF (not the ZF.2 version) arrived today. Optically and mechanically it's fantastic. However, I'm curious about the noise I hear when I focus. It may be perfectly normal, but I've never had a Zeiss lens before.

Anyway, when I turn the focus ring I hear a ZZZZ ZZZZ noise. (I feel like I'm describing something I hear in my car to my mechanic...). My guess is it's very fine gears working together. I have many lenses from many other manufacturers, and they're smooth and quiet. Is this how Zeiss lenses sound? It's smooth, but certainly not quiet!

Rob

Nov 23, 2015 at 03:20 PM
Smridevan
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Zeiss lens noise while focusing?

My 21 ZF.2 does not make any noises. It's buttery smooth. The only noise is from my fingers making intermittent contact with the ribs of the focus ring as I focus the lens. I don't think it's normal for it to make noises.

Nov 23, 2015 at 10:51 PM
chuhsi1
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Zeiss lens noise while focusing?

Should be buttery smooth without noise

Nov 23, 2015 at 11:04 PM
DannyBurkPhoto
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Zeiss lens noise while focusing?

No noise from any of mine.

Nov 23, 2015 at 11:26 PM
edwardkaraa
• • • • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Zeiss lens noise while focusing?

If it's a grinding noise, it's the grease that has dried out. You should send it to be serviced and do not use it in the meantime.

Nov 23, 2015 at 11:58 PM
rdeloe
• • • •
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · Zeiss lens noise while focusing?