New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Fall colors with Friend's daughters

clarence3
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Fall colors with Friend's daughters

I'm just a sports photographer, but our friends asked for some pictures of their daughters.

After saying no several times and explaining that I like sports because I don't have to pose or even interact with the subjects, I just follow the action and click, maybe with a little thought into pre-positioning and basic frame composition.

But the mom was insistent and promised that no posing would be required... just follow them around and click a few times. So we walked around the lake trail in our back yard and that's what I did...

2. Tried to use a single speedlite on the side, but a little harsh with no modifier...

3. I wanted lighting somewhere between previous shot and this one...

Fun to try something different, but I think I'll stick to football.

Nov 22, 2015 at 04:49 PM
friscoron
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Fall colors with Friend's daughters

Given your lack of experience with posing and presumably lighting subjects, I think you did a fabulous job. 12 totally rocks. 10 is a really good shot that displays their relationship. Good job!

Nov 22, 2015 at 06:36 PM
Jim Rickards
• • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Fall colors with Friend's daughters

Gotta agree with Ron - well done on this set. Don't limit your photos to sports.

Nov 22, 2015 at 09:36 PM
clarence3
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Fall colors with Friend's daughters

Thanks guys.

I think this session only turned out ok since I've known these girls since they were preschoolers.

We got lucky with nice light and decent foliage. Their mom and my wife had talked about it, but I had no idea I was supposed to do the shoot until they rang the doorbell.