Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Yosemite Trees November 2015

johntruong
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Yosemite Trees November 2015

Hey folks!

Here are two forest images I took while out in Yosemite a few weeks ago after a weekend Winter storm. These were taken on a hike to Mirror Lake on a Sony A7rII and the Canon 24-70 2.8 II in RAW.

What I was amazed at was how beautiful the leaves were when the skies were completely overcast. The yellows and oranges look completely different when the sun is out vs when it is overcast and dark. The entire weekend was mostly rain and darkness, and these were shot with rain coming down intermittently.

These were edited in Lightroom and then Photoshop - and on these specific shots - what I really wanted to show you was how the autumn leaves seemed glow and reverberate next to the darker colored foliage. I am a painter with a minor in photography, and painting influences how I edit my images.

I spent a few days editing these - going back and forth and moving away from the editing and then going back to it the next day - mostly balancing out complimentary colors and making sure the colors harmonized with one another.

Afterglow, where is a beautiful model in a white fantasy dress when you need one? by John Truong, on Flickr

Orange you glad it rained? by John Truong, on Flickr

Nov 13, 2015 at 05:19 PM
TimMc

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Yosemite Trees November 2015

John-these and the others in first set are really great. I took the time to look at your flickr photo stream and found it equally enjoyable. You set a standard that I can use to push my own work. Thanks

Nov 13, 2015 at 05:51 PM
johntruong
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Yosemite Trees November 2015

Thanks Tim. And likewise! Still learning and experimenting

Nov 13, 2015 at 07:12 PM
dwa652
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Yosemite Trees November 2015