Username  

Sports Corner Rules
Sports Corner Resource

FM Forums | Sports Corner | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · First Time Strobing Basketball

wjfagan

Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · First Time Strobing Basketball

Alright, be kind but honest... I thought it went well, being the first time I've ever used strobes to shoot basketball. I used two Yongnuo 560-IIIs mounted on either side of the basket, aimed toward the top of the key, zoomed to 50mm, each set to 1/4 power.They are mounted about as high as the top of the backboard. Give me some ideas on how I can improve (without buying more/more expensive equipment). Thanks for your help!

Nov 13, 2015 at 12:22 AM
ronlane
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · First Time Strobing Basketball

I'm far from an expert but they look pretty good to me. I think that they may be a little hot, so I would be tempted to try 1/8th power.

My favorites of this set are #2 and #4.

Nov 13, 2015 at 08:33 AM
timgangloff
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · First Time Strobing Basketball

For your first time, I think you nailed it. Sure, you can make some minor improvements, but overall really nice job. One thing I don't like is the shadows you get from direct. Not sure about your situation, but if you can, you may want to experiment with bouncing the flash.

Nov 13, 2015 at 09:32 AM
gschlact
• • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · First Time Strobing Basketball

I think the color and sharpness look great. I agree with Tim, bouncing and a bit more power might reduction shadows.

Regarding your exposure, you got sharp shots, sharper than 1/250 would normally produce. Yet, the exposure seems like it would be less than 2 stops from non flash. Surprisingly, I don't see any ghosting. What I am not sure about is whether you had lots of slightly blurred images, or was this gym even more underlighted than most? If you had a bunch of blurred due to ghosting (flash exposure too close to ambient), try more flash power to freeze action.