New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · GPS system for D800

W4w3

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · GPS system for D800

I’m looking for a GPS system for my D800 to geo tag all of my photos on the go. I have previously never geo tagged any of my shots so I have zero experience in all of this.

What is required of the product is simply the ability to record location data on the files themselves. Not making the workflow any more tedious is of high importance to me, so, for example the mobile phone GPS apps would not be my first choice (they will also likely be out of the question as I’m currently using neither Android nor iOS).

As for the typical use, I mainly need geo tagging in my travels since, when driving, I might stop by the road to take a picture every now and then and after the trip have found it impossible to remember where exactly the photos are taken.

The product I’m looking for would ideally perform well both outdoors and inside buildings. Occasionally I do some urban exploration so the ability to geo tag photos taken indoors would be nice.

Based on my quick research on the topic I understood that there are a lot of alternative products on the market. I don’t mind attaching the GPS unit to the hot shoe since I very rarely use flash on the trips anyways. However, I don’t want the GPS unit to prevent me from using a remote shutter release.

The budget for the purchase will be something like $500 at most, but from what I've read the typical products aren't that expensive.

So what would be your recommendations for my needs? Also, if there are any good reviews on the alternative products on the market, I’d appreciate links to these.

Thanks in advance!

Nov 03, 2015 at 03:52 AM
Todd Warnke
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · GPS system for D800