FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Group photo help

ccougar
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Group photo help

I am primarily a bird and wildlife photographer but have been asked to photograph a "once in a lifetime" family gathering for a close friend. I have little experience photographing groups of people and would appreciate any advise or suggestions. The group will consist of perhaps 12 to 15 people, including some elderly and a couple of small children. I am planning to use a Canon 1DX and either a 24-105 or a 16-35 zoom lens. I do not have flash equipment sufficient to light a group this size, so I am thinking of finding a shaded outside location and using a Canon 580EX flash to fill in the shadows. Posing a group this size is a major concern for me. I have seen sone excellent photos of wedding parties in this forum and hope I can duplicate some of them. Thanks for any pointers you might provide.

Oct 23, 2015 at 12:26 PM
jmraso
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Group photo help

Simetry, well structured in terms of age, relationship ..., all tucked in, no dirt and annoying things around, watch the background, take a few of the different combination so the chances of bliknking eyes are fewer, from here on you can do those funny shots I think you described, not very fond of them myself !

Good luck !

ccougar wrote:
I am primarily a bird and wildlife photographer but have been asked to photograph a "once in a lifetime" family gathering for a close friend. I have little experience photographing groups of people and would appreciate any advise or suggestions. The group will consist of perhaps 12 to 15 people, including some elderly and a couple of small children. I am planning to use a Canon 1DX and either a 24-105 or a 16-35 zoom lens. I do not have flash equipment sufficient to light a group this size, so I am thinking of finding a shaded outside location and
...Show more