New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Google Earth Pro

sjordan93436
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Google Earth Pro

It is now free. I am a farmer. I would like to generate satellite map of my area. I can use Google Earth Pro. I can find and save a 3,000 by 4,000 pixel image, but I am having some problems. I get around using a mouse and scroll bar, but I want more precision.

I would like to generate a grid of identically zoomed images to be photomerged in PS. So Ineed to fix the scaling manually and manually move up and down. That way I can get a repeatable panorama to be printed. Call me ignorant or old school, but I do not see the resources, support, or support forums to ask the basic question.

My analysis so far is that the maximum resolution seems to be about 3 feet.

Any suggestions? I know this is out of the ordinary.

Oct 17, 2015 at 01:08 PM
Peter Figen
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Google Earth Pro

Calling you a farmer is like saying I still shoot with my Tower Snappy. I'll try and get a chance to look at GEP this weekend and see if it makes any sense.

Oct 17, 2015 at 01:53 PM
sjordan93436
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Google Earth Pro

Aw shucks, my favorite show is Green Acres, what a hoot. By the way, bib overalls can lots of pockets for those cute film canisters.

Thanks, Peter. You talent and work inspire me. I want to be like Peter when I grow up (or retire, whichever comes first).

Oct 18, 2015 at 04:24 PM
redcrown
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Google Earth Pro

Don't know Google Earth "Pro", but I did this once long ago with plain old Google Earth.

The trick was to stop the "tilt" that happens when you zoom in. Under Tools/Options/Navigation there is a "Do not auto tilt while zooming". Check that, then also look at View/Reset/Tilt.