FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2015 · practise makes perfect?

Seth Lord
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · practise makes perfect?

Well, hello again. I'm the poor bugger who started the thread: "which 70-200?" a little while ago.

Just wanted to let those who generously responded to my questions that:
(a) I finally purchased the Nikkor 70-200 f4.0;
(b) my first paying wedding shoot is now over; and
(c) the 70-200 f4 is a terrific lens - but I used the Sigma 35mm f1.4 Art most of the time.

If you sense from the words "now over" that it was a harrowing experience, then you are right.

Nothing went to plan. I studied the tips I had received here. I practised with the SB 910, the SB700, and fill flash, bounce flash, high speed flash, etc., etc. I committed to memory the suggestions about where I should be at certain times. I watched the YouTube video of my countryman Jerry Ghionis at B&H on how to pose people (and made notes at pocket size, stapled, and inserted inside my jacket pocket - just like Forrest Gump would have done).

I was all set to go. These would be 'Art' photos to stun the world, at least the world Down Under. Then reality set in. It was a riverside wedding in a park. There were three, narrow rows of collapsible seats. Yeah, I had attended the rehearsal. But you don't get to fine tune your exposures in an outdoor park the day before D-day. Weather forecasts are more relevant.