New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       4       5       end

Archive 2015 · landscape gear

bradf35
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · landscape gear

If you were starting over today, what landscape gear would you buy? I've been shooting with an original 5D and old Tamron lens for way too long now, and I've decided to upgrade. I've been saving money for 5 years with the idea of upgrading, but have never pulled the trigger. What landscape gear do you have that you can't live without, or what would you buy today? I've saved up a rather large budget, so I'm thinking about new gear plus a trip somewhere.

Also, I'll be donating my old 5d to someone that needs a camera. I've asked at my local camera club and no one has any ideas. It has some issues, but as long as the shutter speed is below about 4 seconds it works great. I'd love to give it to a kid looking to get into FF or something. If anyone knows someone in need, shoot me a pm. I'll pay shipping and everything.

Oct 06, 2015 at 01:06 PM
Monito
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · landscape gear

You don't indicate a budget. What are you seeking?

Without a budget, I'd buy one of everything Canon makes and then some more stuff like a 5x7 field camera with front and back movements. Without a budget I'd buy the services of two field assistants and a camp cook / tent pitcher for years.

But a little more down to earth ...

I have a 5DS. Starting over I'd get a 5DS, for landscape.

I have focal lengths from 16 to 540 with zooms at the ends and the middle covered by primes. I'd get more zooms for the middle and more Tilt-Shift. But I'd get more now too. And with some more budget I'd upgrade quality of lens, etc.

I would like to make two points:

1) If you are looking for focal lengths / wide angles, it is important to understand that all focal lengths (all, all) are landscape focal lengths. I have made landscape photographs from 16 mm to 540 mm and most in-between.