Username  

FM Forum Rules
Wedding Resource List

FM Forums | Wedding Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Portfolio building question

dachshund

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Portfolio building question

I’m in the portfolio-building phase of my business, and while I have a few paying clients I need more images on my website before I’m comfortable launching the business. While I'd love to do weddings, this will be doing portraits for starters.

I’ve been shooting music performances around town which has two benefits, more images for my portfolio, and I can give out my business card and do some networking. I send the link to the band when their pictures are up, and sometimes this leads to paying work (head shots, band photos.)

Here’s my dilemma. I’m also a musician, and I know that local bands have $0 budget for marketing. I don’t see the point of charging a nominal fee for downloading images to be used on their websites or social media, since it would have to be very low. In my own case I still have a day job, and many musicians do, but there are plenty who are making a living on their music, which isn’t much.

I’m considering giving them away, for now, as my way of giving back. I understand that people you give work to for free may never become paying customers. I'm not sure how I'll handle this down the road, when I'll need to charge as much as the market will bear. I imagine I'll still shoot performances and just give out my card. I'm good at it and I enjoy this type of photography. I use a watermark, so presumably it could get some visibility.

I appreciate any comments and advice. If this is a terrible idea that will only result in circling the drain... brutal honesty is appreciated.
Amy

Sep 21, 2015 at 03:33 PM
Littleguy
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Portfolio building question

I am in the same boat and have been thinking about this problem. I have now started to look at how successful companies do this.