New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · MagMod or other light diffusers

nicknick23
• •
[X]
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · MagMod or other light diffusers

I will be using 2 off camera flashes for portraits and want to get pretty creative. I am new to using off camera flash and came across MagMod....any thoughts on this vrs another system that is small and portable that offers those options for light diffusers?

Sep 21, 2015 at 12:47 PM
DigMeTX
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · MagMod or other light diffusers

Search the wedding forum. A lot of guys there use them and there are some threads. The inventor used to be really active in that forum.

Sep 21, 2015 at 01:08 PM
nicknick23
• •
[X]
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · MagMod or other light diffusers

OK cool...thank you

Sep 21, 2015 at 01:10 PM
Mark_L
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · MagMod or other light diffusers

Don't exact these flash addons to do an awful lot to the light other than spray it around. You are best looking at softboxes designed for speedlights or umbrellas.

Sep 21, 2015 at 02:08 PM
DigMeTX
• • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · MagMod or other light diffusers

The Magmod doesn't just offer a diffuser. It also has a system of gels, grid and snoot. If someone is using a magmod it doesn't necessarily mean that they are diffusing. I don't own the setup but a lot of people seem to be happy with the convenience.

Sep 21, 2015 at 02:27 PM
nicknick23
• •
[X]
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · MagMod or other light diffusers

Mark_L wrote:
Don't exact these flash addons to do an awful lot to the light other than spray it around. You are best looking at softboxes designed for speedlights or umbrellas.

Any recommendations for a portable sturdy soft box that will be used outside?

Sep 22, 2015 at 01:31 AM
DigMeTX
• • •
p.1 #7 · p.1 #7 · MagMod or other light diffusers