Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

FM Forum Rules
Macro World Resource

FM Forums | Macro & Still Life | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Who Cares about the Inverse - Squire Law?

Bob Culver

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Who Cares about the Inverse - Squire Law?

Who does this law effect and why should you care?

In the exercise below, I describe the difference between the Nikon 105mm f2.8 D Macro lens with internal focusing verses a primary lenses mounted onto extension rings. The focus of this experiment is the light catching ability of both lenses while using the same F-stop for the test exposures in macro mode.

I am an amateur photographer, and graduate of Brooks Institute class of 1979. I have been using my Nikon F Photomic until early 2005. Up to that point for Macro photography, I used my bellows and a dedicated bellows 100mm lens, (A. Schacht Ulm – Travegar 1:3.3/100 R).

With the purchase of my Nikon D70s, I purchased AI extension rings and a Series E 100mm f2.8 lens. I found this combination very satisfying, acquiring good captures. The resolution was excellent and images with good contrast. I use a combination of flash and natural lighting, whatever works for the particular image.