FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

3              10       11       end

Archive 2017 · D7200 Image Thread

Andre Labonte
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · D7200 Image Thread

Carlos Salcedo wrote:
For high school I would never go below 1/1000th, college/NFL below 1/1600th for night/indoor or 1/2000th for daylight.

Hi Carlos,

OK, all my football experience is JV High-school or younger and all during the day time. My shutter speeds have always been well over 1/1000 unless it was particularly cloudy, in which case I'd go as low as 1/800. The two exceptions are:

--- one game last year under the lights using the D300 -- total waste -- 1/400 @ ISO3200
--- one game this year under the lights using the D7200 -- the images in this post -- 1/400 @ ISO3200

So, based on your experience, you find it's less detrimental to the image to go higher ISO values than to risk any motion blur at all?

My problem here is that I have NO High ISO experience at all coming from the D300 ... I don't know what the D7200 is capable of yet.

Thanks,
Andre

Sep 13, 2015 at 08:15 PM
m.sommers00
• • • •
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · D7200 Image Thread

For boosting exposure on shots with the D800/810, I've found that at 3200 and 6400 you have some wiggle room but ultimately for colour accuracy getting it right in camera really helped. 12800 things get really really hard to correct.

Coming from a D300 -> D800, I was blown away with ISO comparisons. Just shoot high honestly, the shutter speed is most important and you do have some room if things need to be touched up.

And start using LR already lol

Sep 13, 2015 at 08:18 PM
Carlos Salcedo
• •
p.2 #3 · p.2 #3 · D7200 Image Thread

Andre Labonte wrote:
Hi Carlos,

OK, all my football experience is JV High-school or younger and all during the day time. My shutter speeds have always been well over 1/1000 unless it was particularly cloudy, in which case I'd go as low as 1/800. The two exceptions are: