New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Hot-rodding a Mac Mini

Chris Court
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Hot-rodding a Mac Mini

I've been using 2011 Mac Mini Server for a few years now… It's been a great little machine and has served me well as a Lightroom station as well as a general use computer. However I've started accumulating a few USB3 accessories, and of course the 2011 Mini only has USB2 ports.

So, a couple days back I picked up a second-hand 2012 Mini. I would have liked the 2.6Mhz version, but they don't seem to come up on Craigslist very often so I settled for the 2.3. Compared to my 2011 Mini Server, the processor is slightly faster (2.3 quad core Ivy Bridge i7 vs 2.0 Sandy Bridge), It has Intel graphics 4000 as opposed to 3000 (still poor, compared to a discrete graphics card, but reportedly a 25-50% improvement over the 3000) and of course those 4 USB3 ports. Aside from that, they seem pretty much identical.

Obviously the Mac Mini has somewhat limited hot-rodding potential, so to start, I've dropped 16GB of RAM into the new machine. I will also drop in the 1TB Samsung SSD from my 2011 Mini, and revert that one to its standard dual 500GB setup, in preparation for selling.

Now here's where I'm looking for opinions. I have a mount for a second internal drive on the way, which will give me a variety of possible hard drive configurations.

1) I could drop in a fast 2TB spinning drive and use this as an internal Time Machine backup.
2) I could drop in a fast 2TB spinning drive and merge with the SSD into a Fusion Drive.
3) I could get a second, matching SSD, and run them as a striped RAID for (hopefully) a solid extra performance boost.
4) I could get a more recent SSD, for instance a 512GB Samsung 850 pro (current one is Samsung 840 EVO) and use this to store my Lightroom Library and as a Photoshop scratch disk.