New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       3              5       6       end

Archive 2015 · Pro Gear and Hobbyists

ohsnaphappy
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Pro Gear and Hobbyists

Here's an analogy that I just came up with that might help to explain the point I want to make.

Would a consumer buy a Ford F-350 Super Duty and complain it was too big? No, that would be silly. The F-350 is for serious work.

But hobbyist photographers buy pro gear and complain it's too big. I just don't understand that. Not trying to be mean or anything. And honestly, I'm really glad the mirrorless cameras are getting better for y'all.

Aug 11, 2015 at 01:24 PM
Chris Dees
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Pro Gear and Hobbyists

Aug 11, 2015 at 01:51 PM
CGrindahl
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Pro Gear and Hobbyists

Faster lenses are bigger lenses. Even though I'm a hobbyist, I bought professional lenses while shooting Canon because I'd discovered both the pleasure of having sharp images and the pleasure of isolating a subject by shooting at a wider aperture. I discovered that snapshots, as enjoyable as they may be in some circumstances, were not what I wanted to be capturing with my camera. It is probably the reason I've no interest in taking photos with my iPhone.

I've sold that Canon gear and am now invested in Nikon playthings. I'm always interested in what is happening with mirrorless cameras, but smaller has never suited me especially. I'm still enjoying shooting with a D700, which many consider to be a professional camera. I didn't think of it that way when I bought it but it certainly is a different beast that the D600 or even the D750. So I'm not sure exactly who you're talking to with this post. The only thing that really matters is that photography gives one pleasure all the way from kit building, through photo capture and working within the digital or chemical darkroom.

Aug 11, 2015 at 02:32 PM
DGC1