New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Headshots - C&C Welcomed

DougVaughn
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Headshots - C&C Welcomed

I'm not a pro and do this stuff as a way to relieve the stress of my day job, but I do want to improve. Most of the folks I find to photograph are young and unable to pay a pro, so the TFP works out for both of us. Aside from the other stuff we do, they often ask for headshots. My first attempts a couple years ago were miserable, but I'm getting better... I hope.

These are from a shoot a couple weeks ago and were just a small part of the overall session. We were outdoors, so I used my white diffuser as a background, which seemed to work well in a pinch. I'd welcome your comments on what I can do better the next time around. Thanks for looking!

Jul 11, 2015 at 09:55 PM
elliotkramer
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Headshots - C&C Welcomed

Having done hundreds of headshots professionally, I believe the second one is the best, but as headshots go, these don't quite hit the mark, unless you are using the word "headshot" as a generic term. The term headshot has a specific meaning to photographers. I assume you are trying to produce the kind of headshot that an actor would use to find work. Those have to really make an impression. The shots you posted don't stand out. The lighting is pretty flat. There is a lack of intensity. The angle seems a little low. And, they are unfinished in terms of the kind of post processing usually done. They also seem a bit hot and a bit warm. As with many things, it is hard to put it into words, but when you see a great headshot, you know it. I'm just not feeling it here. These are merely competently done images.

Jul 11, 2015 at 11:53 PM
giddyup
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Headshots - C&C Welcomed