Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · worth it to upgrade to lightroom 6 on a mid 2014 macbook pro retina 15&q...

silvermesa1
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · worth it to upgrade to lightroom 6 on a mid 2014 macbook pro retina 15"

I'm new to digital photography and just recently purchased a mid 2014 macbook pro retina 15", 2.5ghz, 512ssd, 750m mainly for photo editing. I purchased Lightroom 5 and elements 12 about 18 months ago and is unopened.

Since lightroom 6 has just been released, are the enhancements worth upgrading to it and selling the unopened software or should i stick with Lightroom 5 and elements 12 and use it for a year or two then upgrade?

I have never used photo editing software and not sure how each will react with the laptop I purchased.

Jul 03, 2015 at 10:06 AM
JPuckettPhoto
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · worth it to upgrade to lightroom 6 on a mid 2014 macbook pro retina 15"

What camera are you using and do you shoot in RAW?

Jul 03, 2015 at 10:26 AM
silvermesa1
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · worth it to upgrade to lightroom 6 on a mid 2014 macbook pro retina 15"

I have a Nikon D300 and shoot in raw. In the future, maybe a year or so from now i am considering upgrading to a preowned Nikon D810.

Jul 03, 2015 at 10:37 AM
Ian.Dobinson
• • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · worth it to upgrade to lightroom 6 on a mid 2014 macbook pro retina 15"

there is a definate speed improvement between LR6 and LR5 . not just the GPU enhancement stuff (which is in develop only) but alround it just seems snappier .

But then you also have to ask yourself with your current gear does LR5 have a problem ?(I would think with 12mp files from the D300 the answer would be no ) .