New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Need to updgrad PP Software - Advice please

jake14mw
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Need to updgrad PP Software - Advice please

Hi everyone,

I hope I can get some good advice for my situation. I am an amatuer photographer although I do get paid for some senior photo shoots. Frankly, my post processing skills are pretty poor. I currently have a Dell Inpsiron 530 desktop with Vista, Lightroom 3, PS Elements 6. I shoot mostly jpg. For my normal daily shooting, many times I just make some quick changes in Picasa because I find it so intutive and straight forward, and quick. Recently, Elements stopped opening for me. I tried to re-install it, but it seems the disc is bad. So that prompted me to think it was time for an upgrade.

I was looking to upgrade to the current version of Elements 13, but it seems it can't be used with Vista. So, then I thought that maybe I should go with the Cloud monthly subscription? I'm a budget concious person, so comitting to a monthly program, especially where I won't understand or use 5% of the functionality of it seems maybe not the smartest route. Can I even do the monthly method with Vista?

What is the negative of TRYING the monthly route? If I get 4 months in and decide it's not worth it, would I lose abilities to access my edits?

I'm honestly overwhelmed just even trying to figure this out. Thanks for any guidance anyone can provide.

Jun 28, 2015 at 09:41 AM
gdanmitchell
• • • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Need to updgrad PP Software - Advice please

If you are interested in the "politics" of choosing the subscription model over the "ownership" model, there are some other threads (probably lower on page one of the forum) where you can read a lot of diverse opinions on that issue.

(Here is one recent thread, if you are so inclined.)