New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · First Roll of Film Scans - Question on Scan Quality

mikelax
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · First Roll of Film Scans - Question on Scan Quality

Hi all, Well after almost 15 years (since high school) I have shot, developed and scanned my first roll of Film. After reviewing the scans in lightroom I am questioning the quality of the pictures, I am trying to figure out if there is a problem (at all). As this is my first roll of film in a long time after shooting Canon 5D M2 and now Fuji XT1, obviously the look is different. I am totally new to scanning negatives so forgive me if this is obvious.

The details are as follows:

1. Leica M6
  2. Leica Summicron 50mm f2 / Dual Range
  3. Kodak 400TX
  4. Developed at Local NYC Store in SoHo (dip dunk processing)
  5. Scans were the "medium" quality, 3088x2048, not sure on DPI. ~3MB per file

Most of the shots were done around NYC, after weeding through the OOF and poor exposure ones, I have a few that I dropped in a Google Drive Folder For Review. These are the scans with no PP work.

I think there is great contrast and tone in these images. My issue is that they don't seem that sharp. Is this just a function of the scan actually not that great. If I was to do a higher quality scan would that that give me the sharpness / extra resolution I would normally be expecting? Should I be expecting to have to sharpen the photos in LR after scanning?

I appreciate any advice or help. As I am starting to shot more film I want to make sure that I know what to expect from the scanning process, and what would be needed to post photos to 500px portfolio, making prints, etc.

Jun 24, 2015 at 05:46 PM
rattymouse
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · First Roll of Film Scans - Question on Scan Quality