New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2015 · Zuiko 18mm 3.5 (OM) with Shift Adapter on FujiX

jecottrell
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Zuiko 18mm 3.5 (OM) with Shift Adapter on FujiX

I've been looking for a shift solution on Fuji bodies and thought I had the answer.

Marry this with this...

But, it looks like I've got a focus problem. It won't focus at pretty much any distance. I'm guessing I've got a great big extension tube and not so much of a shift adapter. I'm new to the whole "adapted lenses" program. Am I missing something, or am I out of luck?

Thanks,

John

May 22, 2015 at 03:25 PM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Zuiko 18mm 3.5 (OM) with Shift Adapter on FujiX

You said, "It won't focus at I'm guessing". I'm guessing you forgot to type, "infinity.".

[edit] OK. You fixed your OP while I was typing my reply (no fair).

In theory, it should work. The Oly 18/3.5 is an excellent lens. I use Oly OM and other "35mm" Alt lenses on both Canon DSLR and Fujifilm X bodies (now X-E2), often using an EOS-to-X adapter on my Alt-to-EOS adapted lens.

The 'normal issue' is when you can get sharp focus in the near- and middle-distances, but not "at infinity". If you can't get decent focus at any distance, then the lens is a definite suspect. Do you have access to any other cameras that you could use to test the lens?

OTOH, it could be technique. Do you have experience using other Alt lenses with 'straight up' adapters on your Fujifilm or other cameras? If yes, then we're back to the lens. Otherwise, maybe something else is going on.

Edited on May 22, 2015 at 04:07 PM · View previous versions

May 22, 2015 at 03:56 PM
jecottrell
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Zuiko 18mm 3.5 (OM) with Shift Adapter on FujiX

Sorry, I caught that typo when I was pasting the same post to the FujiX adapted lens forum.