Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2015 · DX lens for people photography?

Nate Haskovec
• •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · DX lens for people photography?

A very nice friend of mine came to me for advice since I am a photographer. He told me his wife wants a newer, better camera.

She shoots a Nikon DX model and I told him, as I tell all of my other friends, a new camera will likely disappoint her where a new lens (the right lens) would probably blow her away.

I'm a Canon (FX) shooter, and know what I would recommend to her if we used the same format.

Since she and I shoot different brands and formats and I am not familiar with Nikon, can someone recommend a Nikon lens that is regarded as a lens that shines on a DX body?

Ideally (but not limited to) the 18mm - 50mm (plus or minus) range and an f2.8 lens.

She likes "people" photography according to her husband, but I don't suspect she will be shooting portraits full time, and I do suspect she will want the versatility of a zoom.

Thanks in advance!

May 19, 2015 at 01:14 PM
thegame81
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · DX lens for people photography?

Nikon options
Nikon 17-55 2.8
Nikon 70-200 2.8 vr1

3rd party options
sigma 17-50 2.8 os
sigma 50-150 2.8 os

May 19, 2015 at 01:36 PM
Nate Haskovec
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · DX lens for people photography?

Thank you. I'll do some looking at the 17-55 2.8.

That sounds like what I was looking for.

May 19, 2015 at 01:40 PM
fotobandi

p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · DX lens for people photography?

These lenses are, respectively, $1,400.00 and $2,400.00. Aren't there less expensive alternatives for "people photography"?

May 19, 2015 at 02:51 PM
VTXT
• •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · DX lens for people photography?

35mm 1.8, $220, 50mm 1.8, $200, 85mm 1.8, $500.