New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Leica & Alternative Gear | Join Upload & Sell

2       3              5       6       end

Archive 2015 · Sharpest alt lenses?

dantheobserver
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Sharpest alt lenses?

I use a Canon 1DIII and after reading recently about alt glass (old Nikkor lenses, in particular), I've been curious to try it out. I'll be keeping my 100-400L for action and birds in flight, but I'm open to having manual focus lenses for the wide/normal end of things and macro.

I have the Canon 50/1.8 II, and while I love the color/contrast, I haven't been blown away by the sharpness. I've read good things about the various MF Nikkor 50s and macro lenses, but does anyone have any recommendations specifically? I'm a college student, so I'm looking for the best sharpness, color and bokeh I can get without having to shell out thousands of dollars for the current crop of canon glass. I'm open to just about any manufacturer, so feel free to recommend all your favorites!

May 16, 2015 at 11:30 AM
Jman13
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Sharpest alt lenses?

Good bang for the buck is the Zeiss 50mm f/1.7 in Contax/Yashica mount. It runs about $200 and is extremely sharp and contrasty.

May 16, 2015 at 11:36 AM
taran
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Sharpest alt lenses?

If I may suggest a micro nikkor 105mm f4 ais. Picked mine up from keh.com for $115. Its perfect for macro.

If you are going this route, i recommend a sony NEX or alpha 7, much easier to focus than a DSLR.

May 16, 2015 at 12:40 PM
Coltrane
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Sharpest alt lenses?

Jman13 wrote:
Good bang for the buck is the Zeiss 50mm f/1.7 in Contax/Yashica mount. It runs about $200 and is extremely sharp and contrasty.