Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · New to this forum and Canon-now what lenses to buy.

RUATurtle
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · New to this forum and Canon-now what lenses to buy.

I don't know if introductions are appropriate but what the heck and I'll say hello and stop lurking on the Canon Forum. I feel really rotten not renewing my Nikonians membership but they don't welcome other brands. I've seen some say "wow" out loud bird shots with the 400mm f5.6L lens and mentioned to a friend that perhaps I "MIGHT" think about jumping ship and going to the big white lenses.

I've been shooting Nikon for about 40 years as a hobby shooter and have taught photography in high school and jr. college. I'm mainly a bird shooter who helps my wife ID birds .

Sold off all the Nikon gear and big glass and took a break from shooting for a few years when I "retired". (back full time now)

Getting ready to gear back up and an evil,rotten friend is making me a deal I cannot refuse on a nearly new Canon 7D MK 2.

I know I will get a 100-400mm or a 400mm f5.6 and thinking if a TC 1.4 will work on either of them?

Reading up on a "normal" and wide angle lens.

I't seems the 17-40mm might be a good affordable choice but I also see the 17-55mm f2.8 and I was planning on renting both of them for a week and doing my own testing.

I also need a wide angle to shoot interiors and researching that now. Any suggestions?

May 05, 2015 at 06:07 PM
onegreatcity
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · New to this forum and Canon-now what lenses to buy.