New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · 100-400 seems softer on newer camera

Bsmooth
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · 100-400 seems softer on newer camera

I've been using a 1DMKII for a few years now and just switched over to a 1DMKIV. I was expecting the 100-400 to be even better with the new body.However the images seem slightly softer when blown up . Also at the same setting, the newer body seems to need more light. Images I shot on the MKII at ISO 400 seem better than on the newer body at the same ISO levels. Even at shutter speeds of 1/500 the images seem soft, in order to get them sharper I need to shoot longer shutter speeds or pump up the ISO even higher.
What would the minimum shutter speed for using a 100-400 version 1 be ? Or should I say the best shutter speed for birds in flight. I tried shooting swallows and even with a shutter speed of 1/1250, the images were soft.

May 04, 2015 at 11:51 AM
gqllc007
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · 100-400 seems softer on newer camera

Did you AFMA the new body and lens together?

May 04, 2015 at 12:09 PM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · 100-400 seems softer on newer camera

I had a 1DIV when I got my 100-400L IS (Mk I) in 2012 and then I added a 1DX. I was generally very happy with the sharpness that it provided. I sold the 100-400 Mk I to help pay for a new Mk II this past winter, and it's better, especially for handheld shooting at lower shutter speeds, and away from the centre. My 100-400 Mk I was always plenty sharp in the central parts of the image, on 1DIV, 1DX, and 6D.

The 1DIV brings a few new considerations to the table: (i) it's a higher density sensor than the 1DII (87 ppmm vs. 61 ppmm), and so it'll be more sensitive to showing 'blur' at 100%; (ii) it has a more complex AF system, with more setup options; and (iii) the 1DIV has AF microadjustment (AFMA).