New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Need PC

Arrevelle

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Need PC

I need a PC to run LR. No gaming and im on a budget. Im a nursinng student. Lol. Ive read reviews, advice etc on tons of forums etc. now im even more confused. Help!

Apr 04, 2015 at 10:04 AM
aubsxc
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Need PC

What is your budget? Are you willing to build it yourself?

Apr 04, 2015 at 10:52 AM
15Bit
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Need PC

For LR 5:
- Get the fastest intel quad core cpu you can afford
- At least 8GB RAM (16 if you can afford)
- Boot from an SSD (128-200GB will do)
- Put the images on a spinning hard disk (1-6TB, depending on your needs)
- Remember to get a backup system of some kind (an external USB drive will do fine for basic needs)

- Don't bother with a graphics card, the integrated intel GPU is good enough
- Hosting the LR catalogue on an SSD is reported to speed things a bit, but should not be a primary consideration

- Dell do OK screens at acceptable prices. Anything labelled "Ultrasharp" will be acceptable for photo editing, the non-ultrasharp models are not so hot though.

There is a "but" attached here, and it's a big one - LR6 is rumoured to be launching soon, and we don't know what changes they are making to the rendering engine. It is widely hoped that Adobe will add support for GPU co-processing (in which case you probably want to add a GTX-750 or similar to the above spec), but as of now everything is entirely rumour and speculation.

Apr 04, 2015 at 12:20 PM
Arrevelle

p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Need PC