New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Unintended Consequences

mikekeating
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Unintended Consequences

Hello All,

Got some strange happenings this weekend. First off, let me say that I normally shoot sports (and not even all that great) and I took some images this weekend of my daughters soccer game. I shared the images with her teammates (apple photo stream) so they can post to snapgram and instachat . . .whatever.

Anyway, I got some requests from parents the next day for senior pictures . . .and they made one of my images the new "cover" for the team. Pretty cool.

So, I am not a pro photographer, but I am hoping to move that way in the coming years (just not an option right now), but I want to give it a try in this "low-risk" environment.

Here is what I was thinking. Do the first senior pic for almost next to nothing, with the understanding that I am new to portraits and this will be an experiment and I can use the images to show the other parents. In return, if they are not happy they are not out any money. Plus, I get some experience.

What do you think?

Oh, and anyone know anything about Senior Pictures?

I actually looked at all the senior picture threads yesterday and today and there are some amazing images.

Thanks,

Mike

Mar 16, 2015 at 12:52 PM
friscoron
• • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Unintended Consequences

Hey Mike,

I like your approach to this. IMO, you shouldn't charge people pro rates unless you know you can consistently deliver up to their expectations. The way you're going about it is win-win for them and you.

I would make sure you have in email or writing exactly what they will receive from you as part of this deal. I would also come up with pricing in case they want to purchase a canvas print/wall art, or album, or additional prints.

Have fun with this!

Ron

Mar 16, 2015 at 01:27 PM
jefferies1
• • • •