FM Forum Rules
Nature & Wildlife Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Nature & Wildlife | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Eagles on the Rocks

Chris_88
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Eagles on the Rocks

I finally managed to get up close with the Steller's Sea Eagles in Northern Japan. I had initially planed to rent more serious gear, but since that didn't materialize, I went ahead and shot everything with my a77ii and 70-400G. In retrospect, that worked out reasonably well. Since I'm really a beginner as far as birding is concerned (five outings thus far), C&C is more than welcome.

I should have used a higher shutter speed here, but I still like this one quite a lot.

Here comes the hot stepper.

Fly by

King of the Hill

Mar 09, 2015 at 07:17 AM
JimLittle
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Eagles on the Rocks

I always enjoy images of this bird.....well done!!

Mar 09, 2015 at 08:07 AM
pwschladen
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Eagles on the Rocks

Nice set Chis,
The first two are my favourites.

Il like your title too - I had said to my wife yesterday that I should have called my set "Herons on the rocks" instead of Herons on the Chesapeake. There was still plenty of ice around yesterday when I took the second set, but not in the pics so I missed the boat on that one.

Mar 09, 2015 at 08:14 AM
Frogfish
• • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Eagles on the Rocks

Exciting stuff Chris .. glad it all worked out for you in the end and you have some fine shots to show for it. I must put this in my diary for next Winter now !

Mar 09, 2015 at 08:53 AM
brimull
• • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Eagles on the Rocks

Interesting eagle. You've captured a nice variety of action and static. I especially like the second...the perspective and expression.

Brian M.

Mar 09, 2015 at 10:26 AM
Chris_88
• • • •
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · Eagles on the Rocks

JimLittle wrote:
I always enjoy images of this bird.....well done!!

Thank you.

pwschladen wrote:
Nice set Chis,