New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2015 · Macro Photography

gedmerson

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Macro Photography

I have been doing landscapes and portraits for a few years. I decided I wanted to try my hand with Macro Photography. I am a canon shooter and would like to know recommended macro setups. Not sure if I need an extension tube or an extender and a macro ring light. Any help would be appreciated. I currently have a Canon 5D Mark III and a 100Lmm Macro lens.

Feb 19, 2015 at 01:43 PM
henryp
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Macro Photography

gedmerson wrote:
I have been doing landscapes and portraits for a few years. I decided I wanted to try my hand with Macro Photography. I am a canon shooter and would like to know recommended macro setups. Not sure if I need an extension tube or an extender and a macro ring light. Any help would be appreciated. I currently have a Canon 5D Mark III and a 100Lmm Macro lens.

I presume you have the Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM Lens, The lens will do 1:1 magnification without other accessory tubes or close-up filters. Without knowing more I'm reluctant to suggest you buy anything else. If you want to consider a ringlight, look at these.

Henry Posner
[email protected]
B&H Photo-Video

Feb 19, 2015 at 02:16 PM
15Bit
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Macro Photography

What level of macro are you talking about, and what subjects? If you want to get really close to small insects and such, you'll probably want some lighting, something like the 100mm that Henry recommends and possibly some tubes also. You'll also likely want something to hold it all - a tripod equipped with a sliding rail or such.