FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

2       end

Archive 2015 · Storage, backup and archiving

StarNut
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Storage, backup and archiving

Hi,

I'm not a photography pro, but I take a lot of digital images.

These quickly fill up my hard drive.

So I'm looking for a reasonably efficient (meaning fairly easy and fairly automated) method of storing my images of of my hard drive, so that (i) they are readily available; (ii) I am properly backed up, and (iii) I ultimately can archive them safely when I'm sure I'm done with them.

At present, I keep them on my hard drive until I need space, then move them to a couple of external hard drives. I back up every night onto an external hard drive.

But this is a bit clunky, since I now have a large collection of external hard drives.

Is there anything better that doesn't cost a fortune?

Thanks.

Mark

Feb 10, 2015 at 11:56 AM
jcolwell
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Storage, backup and archiving

I use multiple internal and external hard drives. All of my digital photos and scanned MF/LF negs and transparencies going back to 2004 are on both internal drives and external 'mirror' drives. Every time I download an image card, I put on the current internal archive disk, and then I copy the files from the internal drive to the 'matching' external drive before formatting the image card. All of my image folders use a yyyy-mm-dd name format (e.g. 2015-02-10), and I have a spreadsheet where I record the dates of all activties and jobs. It's really easy to find stuff.