Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Canon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · G1x good for hiking & panos?

JamieW
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · G1x good for hiking & panos?

I'm looking for a high quality compact camera to hike with. I like to make larger prints, usually panos 3-4 feet long combining multiple images. But it's strenuous hiking I.e. significant altitude gain & so regular dslr & lenses are too heavy for me. Considering a canon G1x.

Appreciate thoughts & opinions. Thx.

View previous versions

Feb 05, 2015 at 04:54 PM
Jeff Nolten
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · G1x good for hiking & panos?

I really like my G1X. I've been using mine for hiking and travel for over two years and have gotten great images from it. I also us a 5D3 and the images look good next to each other. The G1X has an optically good lens and a large sensor with the same pixel pitch as the 18 MP APS C sensor. For landscape photography it has a built in level, an exposure histogram preview, and an exposure compensation knob. It also has a nice stitch assist pano mode if you are shooting jpegs. The Canon refurb site had them on sale recently; don't know if that's still going. I'm discussing the version 1 but the mk 2 is equivalent.

That said, there is also the Canon SL1 that has Canon's full 18 MP sensor (3:2 aspect ratio vs the G1X' 4:3), so a few more horizontal pixels. There is a nice 10-16, 24, and 55-250 STM lens set that is very light weight and great for hiking.

Those are the two Canons I have and would recommend for your stated use. There are also some good M4/3s mirror less systems that others will be along shortly to tout. Enjoy your search.

Edited on Feb 05, 2015 at 06:32 PM · View previous versions

Feb 05, 2015 at 06:29 PM
Gunzorro
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On