Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | People Photography | Join Upload & Sell

end

Archive 2015 · Dignity: Do we owe it to our subjects?

RustyBug
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Dignity: Do we owe it to our subjects?

As to the homeless and the veteran correlation ... I'm a disabled vet and a TBI survivor both. Fortunately, I've never had to be on the street. Although, I have been in it's neighborhood a couple times along the way.

My point isn't for anyone to feel anything for me ... but to point out that the closer one is to a situation personally, the less likely they are to be devoid of respect and dignity for someone else in such a situation, or to have an exploitative nature for it. That doesn't mean you have to have been "down & out", but folks that tend to NOT be exploitative at least put their mind into what it would be like to be in another person's shoes.

If you're a hipster with camera, jonesin' for the en vogue street scene, jackin' up your portfolio and likes on FB and Flickr with pics of unfortunate individuals ... yeah, your the bomb. Go work the soup kitchen, the shelter or the mission (without a camera) for a while ... (end rant).

To each his own ... I have my opinion of what constitutes exploitation. I'm sure everyone else has their own as well. Lots of ways to be exploitative ... just check it before you hit the "post" button ... at least, if you care about the matter at all.

Feb 05, 2015 at 06:28 PM
airfrogusmc
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · Dignity: Do we owe it to our subjects?

What about the serious documentary photographer doing a photo essay on the effect of war on veterans?

Feb 06, 2015 at 06:47 PM
friscoron
• • • • •
p.2 #3 · p.2 #3 · Dignity: Do we owe it to our subjects?