Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · Tethering Error LR 5.7 (Mac+Canon users)

Sean Reagan

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Tethering Error LR 5.7 (Mac+Canon users)

I'm new to the tethering game. Upon buying all of my cords I found that LR 5.7 does not detect my camera. Solutions...

Gear :

Canon 5D Mark I
Tripp•Lite USB 2.0 Active Extension Cable 16ft.
MacBook Pro 13inch retina (OS X Yosemite) 10.10.2
LR 5.7

Feb 02, 2015 at 09:37 PM
Ian.Dobinson
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Tethering Error LR 5.7 (Mac+Canon users)

have you tried it using canon's software ? if you can get it to tether thru that then you should be able to move onto LR

Feb 03, 2015 at 09:20 AM
Mr Joe
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Tethering Error LR 5.7 (Mac+Canon users)

According to Adobe's website, the EOS 5D Mark I is no longer supported after LR 4.1
http://helpx.adobe.com/lightroom/kb/tethered-camera-support-lightroom-4.html

Ian's idea is something I've used before. Canon's Digital Photo Professional (DPP) is free and works well.

Then have Lightroom watch the folder where the images are importing to pull them in automatically.

Feb 03, 2015 at 11:01 AM
Sean Reagan

p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Tethering Error LR 5.7 (Mac+Canon users)

Thanks for the replies! What is the actual name of the software that you're talking about Ian.Dobinson?

Feb 03, 2015 at 05:08 PM
Gochugogi
• • • • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Tethering Error LR 5.7 (Mac+Canon users)

I seem to recall Canon stopped USB tethering support for the EOS 5D a couple years back. I could be wrong but it wouldn't be difficult to check on Canon's website.

Feb 03, 2015 at 06:36 PM
Ian.Dobinson
• • • • • •
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · Tethering Error LR 5.7 (Mac+Canon users)

Sean Reagan wrote: