Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Nikon Forum | Join Upload & Sell

end

Archive 2015 · Why so many 85mm f/1.8G 's for sale?

jigesh
• • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.2 #1 · p.2 #1 · Why so many 85mm f/1.8G 's for sale?

I had both. f1.4G was slower to focus than f1.8G. Both are great! Since I am not a pro (don't make money out of photography), I kept f1.8G and sold f1.4G.

Jan 26, 2015 at 12:52 PM
Andre Labonte
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.2 #2 · p.2 #2 · Why so many 85mm f/1.8G 's for sale?

InlawBiker wrote:
I use the 85mm on DX for indoor events, so I don't have to be too close or use a flash. You can get candid shots with this type of reach, I find it useful at parties. On FX I might use it less but as one of the remaining DX holdouts, who knows. Anyway it's really good and small, and inexpensive enough just to hold onto.

I could see that for parties and events where I'm standing further off and in fact that is where I use it most. But when getting down on the floor in tight quarters with the kids, the 50mm works better for me because I do the latter more than the former.

Jan 26, 2015 at 01:09 PM
chrisfphotog
• • •
p.2 #3 · p.2 #3 · Why so many 85mm f/1.8G 's for sale?

nuclearjock wrote:
The difference between 1.4 and 1.8 is really very small in terms of dof, especially for the money. I own both the 1.8G and the 1.4D and LOVE the 1.8G!!

One advantage that the 1.4G offers that is nearly ALWAYS overlooked in reviews and comparisons is the fact that it is weather-sealed. This is a huge deal to some people. Price wise the 1.8G is an amazing bang for the buck, no one can argue that.

The Sigma f1.4 offers less vignetting wide open, which is why I went with it over the 1.8G (that plus Ryan Brenizer and Sam Hurd's reviews of the Sigma).

Jan 26, 2015 at 01:26 PM
Joseph.
• • • •