FM Forum Rules
Nature & Wildlife Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Nature & Wildlife | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · L&D 14 New to BIF

JohnKS
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · L&D 14 New to BIF

This is my first attempt at posting BIF. I am typically blown away by the images I come across in this forum and thought it was time to post a few pictures for criticism.

The following pics are from last Friday, Jan 16. The sun cooperated with hardly a cloud in the sky. Winds were from the east to south east while I was shooting pictures. This was my second trip to the dam this winter and my second attempt ever at BIF. I used my 6D with my 100-400. Typically I shoot all manual but did try both aperture and shutter priority on this outing. I did play with some of the auto focus functions in the customs menu to help with tracking the eagles. I don't know if it helped however I did get more keepers this time than my last time out on Jan. 2nd. I'm sure the 6D isn't the best tool to use for shooting BIF but for now it will need to do for now while I decide if the 7D Mark II is in my future. I recently sold my 60D in anticipation of an upgrade for my second camera. I'd appreciated any and all constructive criticism and any pointers in the right direction to help with my skills. All pics are pretty heavily cropped and I did some processing in Lightroom 5.7.

1. IMG_8966.jpg by john.sanfillippo, on Flickr

2. IMG_9052.jpg by john.sanfillippo, on Flickr

3. IMG_9026.jpg by john.sanfillippo, on Flickr

4. IMG_8625.jpg by john.sanfillippo, on Flickr

I had a great time taking these pictures and hope to make it out there another time this winter. Thanks for looking and for your help.

John

Edited on Jan 21, 2015 at 08:13 AM · View previous versions

Jan 19, 2015 at 06:05 PM
ashley138
• • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · L&D 14 New to BIF

A great first attempt! I'm sure my first attempt did not turn out nearly that well.