New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

2       3       end

Archive 2015 · HSS vs. No HSS for Action

hijazist
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · HSS vs. No HSS for Action

I've never used strobes for action before, I've shot action with no strobes and I've used strobes for non-action

I will be shooting a biking race in a couple of weeks using 2 Profoto B1s with Zoom Reflector II. The B1s now have HSS which allows me to shoot at 1/4000 (lowest possible power with HSS is 8).

Would you guys recommend using HSS to freeze the action or use regular sync and depend on the short flash duration of the B1 (with freeze mode the B1 can shoot at 1/19000 at lowest power).

The race should be during the day so ambient will be plenty, I am just adding the strobes to add more drama to the images.

Jan 17, 2015 at 03:06 PM
ukphotographer
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · HSS vs. No HSS for Action

I would use shutter speeds beyond my maximum x-sync, I wouldn't use HSS, I don't think the B1's HSS option would be the most suitable option for this and the full power output is too short to offer any other option.

Then, it would depend specifically on what you were intending to do. "Adding Drama" would only be in a limited amount of applications.

Jan 17, 2015 at 08:20 PM
NCAndy
• • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · HSS vs. No HSS for Action

Your flash won't freeze action at sync speeds unless it can overpower the ambient by about 4 stops. Then you would have the cycling in a cave look, but I doubt that is really possible anyway in the day. You should probably use the flash for fill, using HSS and a ss of 1/1250 or slightly faster, exposing for the ambient light or slightly under.

I'm not familiar with the B1 heads, so not sure if TTL is available. Since cycling is dynamic I would think the subject distance will change and TTL might work best to fill in using your flash.