New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · ICC Profile Problem

Mark Metternich
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · ICC Profile Problem

I have been making prints professionally for over 10 years now, and do post production for a whole load of fine art gallery photographers. I even teach color management professionally. But this one is really frustrating me!

In PS CC 2014, when I load an ICC profile into the proper location: Windows/System32/Spool/Drivers/Color, AND install the profile, it is NOT showing up in my PS soft-proofing option: View/Proof Setup/Custom/Device to Simulate.

This has never happened before. I have tried a couple different profiles.

They also do not show up in Camera Raw soft-proofing or Lightroom. I use Camera Raw BTW...

Any help would very much be appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Mark

Jan 12, 2015 at 06:23 PM
Eyeball
• • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · ICC Profile Problem

Here are two quick thoughts:

- Possible corruption of profile. There are utilities like those from Colorthink that will do diagnostics on profiles.

- Profiles have the file name and they usually have an internal name/description. Sometimes those things are different. So if you haven't already, you may want to do a double-check of the list of profiles in the soft-proof to see if maybe the profile is really there, but under a slightly different name. Again, there are also diagnostic utilities that will show internal profile names as well as the external file name.

Jan 12, 2015 at 07:23 PM
Peter Figen
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · ICC Profile Problem