FM Forum Rules
Nature & Wildlife Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Nature & Wildlife | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2015 · How much do you crop?

gjbpro1
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · How much do you crop?

I'm fairly new to wildlife photography; and I'm using a new Canon 7D2 along with a Canon 300mm f2.8 L IS w/ 1.4ex. I just can't get close enough to get a good full frame shot, so I have to crop. Sometime as much as 50-70% which is far too much. When I see such great BIF images on this sight, I wonder how much cropping is acceptable? And how much to crop not just for web use but to make quality enlargements, like 13x19? Any thoughts?

Jan 08, 2015 at 08:46 AM
Christian H
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · How much do you crop?

In my experience - and with the aid of ACR's fairly good upscaling algorithm - I can crop a 36 mp file down to around 10 mp without things falling apart too much.

tricolored heron by Christian Hunold, on Flickr

For shits and giggles I recently did a 4 mp crop from a 24 mp DX file. You can still make out some details, but I wouldn't want to print something like this bigger than a postcard.

carolina wren by Christian Hunold, on Flickr

Jan 08, 2015 at 09:26 AM
gjbpro1
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · How much do you crop?

Thanks for your response. Nice images by the way. I have just been cropping in Lightroom and saving as a tiff. Will ARC do a better job?

Jan 08, 2015 at 09:49 AM
Christian H
• • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · How much do you crop?

I'm not familiar with Lightroom, but ACR's upscaling function has been helpful to me.

Jan 08, 2015 at 10:24 AM
AvianScott
• • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · How much do you crop?

I often crop, but generally not more than 50%.

Jan 08, 2015 at 12:01 PM
morris
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #6 · p.1 #6 · How much do you crop?

It depends on the image. 2x is easy, 4x only on the best images

Jan 08, 2015 at 01:35 PM
GSteele
• • • • •
p.1 #7 · p.1 #7 · How much do you crop?