New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Photo Critique | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Decay

WalterF
• • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Decay

Took this a couple days ago, during sunset. This barn is close by and I have been shooting it for almost ten years, it is sad to see the decay that has happened in that amount of time. The tobacco hanging sticks are still inside the barn ready to be used, like it is hoping for a second chance.

I was wondering how the feel of the photo came out? Does it give a sense of abandonment and decay?

Thanks for looking Walt

Shot at F5.0, 1/50 of a sec., ISO 100, and FL of 42mm

Dec 29, 2014 at 11:09 AM
Bob Jarman
• • • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Decay

I enjoy the comp and subject.

On this monitor it looks over-sharpened to me (not my usual machine) with a bit much contrast - but then my taste is biased toward softer and richer.

Did you get any tighter images? Interiors? I love decay, old buildings, old cars and such stuff.

Regards,

Bob

Dec 29, 2014 at 11:15 AM
RustyBug
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Decay

The sky competes with it very much, imo.

The sky has a lot of intricacy / busy-ness to it, is bright in tonal value and large in mass. Those things pull the eye away from the subject somewhat competitively, and are more of a light/life/alive "happy" than the sadness vibe of decay (dead/dying).

That said, you might consider a crop to reduce the amount of weighting that the expanse of sky and its busy/brightness brings to the image competitively.

Similarly, the (oversharpened) grass pulls for our attention. The grass doesn't command quite as much mass in the image as the expanse of sky, so the reduction in sharpening may be sufficient to reduce the pull away from your main subject.