New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Topaz Denoise

Methodical
• • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Topaz Denoise

Does anyone use this? What's your opinion of this noise reduction software. I will download the trial unit, but just wanted to see what folks that have used this think of it.

Thanks...Al

Dec 26, 2014 at 07:53 PM
Gochugogi
• • • • • •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Topaz Denoise

I've been using Denoise and most of the Topaz plugins for 5 years and they're great. You have to learn to monkey with the settings for best results, e.g., more NR in shadows & less in mids, and can selectively paint it in if you don't want to mess with adjustment layers in PS. CS is very good as most upgrades and bug fixes to the suite were free all these years. I keep buying more of their plugins. The BW plugin is also excellent and very customizable.

Dec 27, 2014 at 02:18 AM
Methodical
• • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Topaz Denoise

Thanks for the response. Do you use it with Lightroom? I have not used PS Elements in years.

Dec 27, 2014 at 06:43 AM
Gochugogi
• • • • • •
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · Topaz Denoise

I use it with Photoshop CS5.1, normally in an adjustment layer. Not a LR user. However, I tried Topaz it in Aperture a few times but didn't care for the workflow. i.e., having to export to TIFF/JPEG once the the plugin is applied. I have a lot of plugins and the Topaz suite--especially Adjustments, Clarity and Denoise-- is the only one that gets used daily.

Dec 27, 2014 at 11:33 AM
DGC1
• • • •
p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · Topaz Denoise

Gochugogi wrote: