Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | General Gear-talk | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Tripod: What head with 055cxPro3?

streetstheatre

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Tripod: What head with 055cxPro3?

Hello All,

I'm new to tripods and need some advice. The primary use of the tripod will be photographing documents, and so the horizontal column possibility of the Manfrotto 055CX looks good. I played with one yesterday and it seemed nice. (I can get it for about AUD$600.)

The camera I'll be using is my 7dii, probably with a Sigma 35 1.4 (it may be that I need to go wider, but that's for another thread!).

What head should I buy? I was looking at the Manfrotto MH055MO-Q6. Would that be too heavy on the horizontal column of the tripod? That's about 3kg on the end of the column. I'd have to put some weight on the back end to balance. (Cost is about $300.)

The secondary use would be out and about, mostly with the same camera/lens, but sometimes with my 400 5.6. This would always be with the column in the vertical arrangement.

The weight of the MH055 seems a bit high compared to Markins, say, but it's also cheaper ($300 (and I can get it from a local shop) vs the Q10 at $450 (on ebay)). I'm in Sydney, Australia, so I'm mindful of shipping costs… and trying to keep this all under $1000, unless there is a really compelling reason to spend more.

The other options is to get a ballhead for out and about, and an quick release clamp that goes right on the legs (since when I'm photographing documents the camera will be pointed straight down anyway).

Thanks in advance for your thoughts!

Dec 18, 2014 at 03:35 PM
Dustin Gent
• • • • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Tripod: What head with 055cxPro3?

i have the 055xprob and use the Sirui k20x head. I have the D600 + 14-24 and this combo does just fantastic