FM Forum Rules
Landscape Posting Guidelines

FM Forums | Landscape Photographer | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · First Astro-Photo

frickerg

Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · First Astro-Photo

Hey Fmers,

First post in Landscape; I typically hang out in NW, but am not a big poster. I just went out last night to shoot some meteors and got an idea to try to shoot some deeper astro photos. I was pretty happy to finish off with this photo. This was a stack from ~100 frames from a canon 6d and 300 2.8 L IS II on a stationary tripod. Given my lack of tracking equipment, I was limited to 1.5 second frames, but was able to pull a fair bit from them. Let me know what y'all think. Happy Shooting.

Orion_Nebula_nebulosity_Stacked-redo-Edited-Photoshop by gregory.fricker, on Flickr

Dec 14, 2014 at 10:32 PM
frickerg

p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · First Astro-Photo

This is my first time ever stacking photos or shooting anything that is not wide field, so if anyone has any stacking/ astro processing tips, let me know.

Dec 14, 2014 at 10:33 PM
JimFox
• • • • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · First Astro-Photo

Hey Greg,

Nice work here. I really like what you came up with. So you said you didn't have a tracking device? You just did 1/5 sec shots and stacked them? What overlay method did you use?

Jim

Dec 14, 2014 at 11:25 PM
harshaj1
• • • • • • •
Upload & Sell: On
p.1 #4 · p.1 #4 · First Astro-Photo

This is impressive work without tracking gear. My question is how do you locate the nebula?
harsha

Dec 14, 2014 at 11:30 PM
frickerg

p.1 #5 · p.1 #5 · First Astro-Photo