Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Post-processing & Printing | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · Need Advice On Backup System.

MGH-PA
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · Need Advice On Backup System.

Let me preface this post with the disclaimer that I am NOT a professional. I do this as a hobby/enthusiast. With that being said, I still have a decent amount of content that I create and need to backup (better).

Right now, my desktop is setup as follows:

128GB SSD (OS/Apps)
256GB SSD (Working files/first copies)
256GB SSD (Scratch Disk for PS/PP/LR Catalog)

I have a 2TB external HD that I manually backup to then on my own accord.

What I want to see happen is this.

I want to continue to use the External HD as a backup to my Working Files disk, but I want to backup to that as well and that offsite. So I'm thinking I need to add a two+disk hot swappable enclosure. I would purchase three drives. Two for in the enclosure, and one for swapping at all times.

In addition, I would like the backups between my current external and my machine AND this new enclosure to all be automated.

Any suggestions?

NAS is out since I don't have gigabit ethernet and no easy access to making that happen for the next two years (once I move, it will be an option). I'm thinking straight USB 3.0 all around.

Thanks!

Edited on Nov 19, 2014 at 08:40 AM · View previous versions

Nov 17, 2014 at 08:30 AM
MGH-PA
• •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · Need Advice On Backup System.

I should have also specified, I'm not a fan of cloud storage, and as such, don't really want to implement that method. Would prefer to keep everything local.

Nov 17, 2014 at 08:58 AM
galenapass
• • • • •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · Need Advice On Backup System.