Home · Register · Join Upload & Sell

Moderated by: Fred Miranda
Username  

New fredmiranda.com Mobile Site
  New Feature: SMS Notification alert
  New Feature: Buy & Sell Watchlist

FM Forums | Lighting & Studio Techniques | Join Upload & Sell

Archive 2014 · PC-Sync to Hot Shoe - will this work to trigger Odin transmitter?

KaBudokan
• •
Upload & Sell: Off
p.1 #1 · p.1 #1 · PC-Sync to Hot Shoe - will this work to trigger Odin transmitter?

I just picked up an old Mamiya RB67 medium format film camera for a cheap price on Craigslist. It's my first time shooting film in a LONG time, and back when I did shoot film, I never used any flashes. With my DSLR, I do a lot of OCF, and I use the Phottix Odin system.

The RB67 uses a PC-sync to trigger flashes. I checked, and it does trigger my Phottix Mitros+ just fine. My thought was that maybe I could use the PC to "trigger" the Mitros+, but use the Mitros+ as a transmitter only to trigger my Odin receivers. No go - when using the sync cable, it doesn't transmit at all, but just fires.

So - my next thought (which I had figured was probably the best option anyway) is to get a PC to Hot Shoe Cable, and mount my Odin transmitter on that. (Was considering this one: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/109454-REG/Kaiser_201301_PC_to_Hot_Shoe.html )

Anyone try this? I think it should work, but not positive.

Thanks for any guidance.

Nov 16, 2014 at 12:54 AM
Paulthelefty
• • •
p.1 #2 · p.1 #2 · PC-Sync to Hot Shoe - will this work to trigger Odin transmitter?

What flashes? Do they not have optical slave ability? KISS principle?

Paul

Nov 16, 2014 at 06:16 PM
KaBudokan
• •
p.1 #3 · p.1 #3 · PC-Sync to Hot Shoe - will this work to trigger Odin transmitter?

Paulthelefty wrote:
What flashes? Do they not have optical slave ability? KISS principle?

Paul

I have a menagerie - 2 phottix mitros, 1 sb-800, 2 yongnuo 560s. Also have a flashpoint rovelight.